BBQ Becky’s Meatballs

Tonight is the SuperBowl. But….can I make a confession with you…I don’t know who is playing this year. 🙂

In high school, I was a cheerleader & because of that I do know how the game is played & I do enjoy watching it. I just don’t really have a favorite team. Normally I root for either the Lions(my husband’s & his family’s favorite team) or the Bears(my mom’s, stepdad’s, & step mother-in-law’s favorite team). But I know neither is in the SuperBowl this year.

But every year no matter what, we always watch the game. The commercials are my favorite part. This year it was be just myself, my husband, & my 3 muchkins. So I decided to make meatballs. But not any meatballs, these meatball are the only recipe my late mother-in-law gave me.

Becky passed away from a car/semi-truck accident back in 2012, 1 week after Brandon’s first birthday & one month before Hunter was born. She was a great woman. She helped my husband & I so much with so many things. Planning our wedding, moving, taxes, everything! I just wish my kids could have spent more time with her. That is why Charles & I named our daughter after her, Rebecca.

Becky gave me this amazing meatball recipe that I use all the time. As seen in the picture above. 🙂 So easy & delicious. Please feel free to use this recipe any time you like. It is my gift to you. I taught this recipe to my dad & he even put a spin on it & made it is own, & you can do the same. Just put a different flavor of jelly or even BBQ sauce. The real secret is cooking the jelly & BBQ sauce. After you make it please tell me what you think in the comments below.

image
This recipe has definitely seen better days. But I use it whenever I can. 🙂

Becky’s BBQ Meatballs

Ingredients: 5lb bag Armour meatballs, 3/4 cup Smucker’s grape jelly, and 27 ounces(1 & 1/2 18oz bottles) of Bull’s Eye Original BBQ sauce.

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees

-Put aluminum foil on 2 cookie sheets

-Take frozen meatballs and evenly distributed them onto cookie sheets

-Place cookie sheets into oven to bake for 12-15 minutes (until brown)

-Take cookie sheets out of oven and using tongs turn them over

-Place cookie sheets back into oven for another 12-15 minutes. Baking the meatballs gives them texture.

-While the meatballs are finishing baking, it’s time to start the sauce.

-Take the medium saucepan and place oven a medium-low heat.

-Add your 3/4 cup of Smucker’s Grape Jelly

-Lightly stir until jelly is liquefied

Add 27oz of Bull’s Eye BBQ sauce and stir until blended into one color and bring to a boil

-Reduce heat and simmer until meatballs are done baking

-Once you have removed your meatballs from the oven, turn your sauce off

-Now it’s time to assemble your meatballs and sauce into the crockpot

-Alternative adding meatballs and sauce into the crockpot, this helps to make sure all meatballs get coated by all the sauce

-Gently stir the meatballs to make sure they did get coated

-Put lid on crockpot and place on low for 30 minutes

-Let pot cool and place in refrigerator overnight. Prepping your meatballs the night before gives the meatballs time to absorb the sauce

-The next day cool your meatballs on low 3 hours prior to your event.

Now go enjoy those meatballs. I sure am enjoying mine! 🙂

Until Next Time…Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

