Mean You Does To SAHM What

imageStay at Home Mom. What do these words mean to you?

Every time I say “I am a stay at home mom” I sometimes feel scared & worried for what people are thinking. They could be thinking “oh she stays home & does nothing all day. I wish I could do that”, “oh her husband makes a lot of money” or “poor her for taking care of her kids all day, I couldn’t do it” Well I’m not the only one who feels like this.

The other day, in my blogging 101 online class, the assignment was to find 4 blogs and comment on them so I did. The next assignment to pick one blog I commented on & go in depth on my comment. So I picked this post & comment from “SAHM”: The Voldmort of Job Titles?. I really enjoyed reading this piece she wrote. She expresses her feelings on being a SAHM and I feel the same. Why do we feel scared about that, worried it offends people, moms? It shouldn’t be that way. SAHM’s should be proud, happy, and greatful that we, as moms, can handle ourselves, our kids, & our whole life without having an income. That is what my husband is for. 🙂

So please what does a Stay at Home Mom mean to you? Are you a parent? A student? Working not working?  I want to hear from all walks of life. To me it means to spend time with my  babies, to take care of them, nurture them, love them, teach them, & to watch them grow while I keep my house clean & myself and my husband happy. 🙂

Untill next time…Don’t Worry About What Others Think

4 thoughts on “Mean You Does To SAHM What

  1. As a stay at home mom, that certainly does not mean you do nothing. However, the meaning is different to many people. I know many stay at home moms who are quite busy taking care of the children and the home, that itself can be a full time job, especially if you have small kids or a family life that involves after school sports, parent meets or volunteer responsibilities.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You think people have weird ideas about stay-at-home moms. Wait till the children grow up (they are very cute by the way 🙂 ) and you become a stay-at-home wife! I went that route. My husband and I just decided it worked better for us this way. I ended up starting a business due to boredom, and managing boarders. So while I’m at home, I certainly do not lack for things to do! lol

    I admire the determination and tenacity of the young stay-at-home moms I see and know nowadays. It’s not easy to fly in the face of current culture. Know that some of us have been there and appreciate what you are doing now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww, Well thank you, I love my babies. I haven’t decided what I will do when all the kids go to school. Maybe go back to college and be a teacher…maybe. Thank you for your comments & your story. I love hearing from other moms that have been in my shoes before. 🙂

      Like

  3. I enjoyed your post but a ” stay at home mom” has a different meaning to different moms.
    Some moms choose not to work because financially, they don’t need to. Other moms stay home because they feel it’s important to raise their children while they are young regardless of finances and sacrifice.
    Regardless of the reason, what matters is why you chose to stay home and if you and your family are benefiting from the decision.
    My children are grown and I stayed home while they were little but it was a big sacrifice. We couldn’t really afford it but we made it work. I eventually had to work and have been working ever since.
    Enjoy your time and don’t worry about what others think! Your children will remember your time at home!😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

